Leki Sherpa XTG Trekking Pole Reviews - Updated August 2022 (2022) (2022)

Review score: 8.2 / 10 – Updated August, 2022

Latest Price: £58

Discover the best walking & trekking poles and read some of the best reviews today.

Leki Sherpa XTG Trekking Pole Reviews - Updated August 2022 (2022) (1)

How customers rate Leki Sherpa XTG Trekking Pole

Quality Score

8.2

Price Score

8.3

Review Score

8.2

Overall Score

8.2

Skip to content:

  • Features
  • Quality
  • Price
  • Reviews
  • Videos
  • Brand – Leki
  • Summary

Leki Sherpa XTG Trekking Pole features and specification

Leki Sherpa XTG Trekking Pole Reviews - Updated August 2022 (2022) (2)

Leki Sherpa XTG Trekking Pole

(Video) LEKI Sherpa Trekking Poles

EAN

4028173795567

Size

One Size

Colour

Grey/Yellow

Average price in category

£102.00

Average price in brand

£106.33

Price

£58

Review Score

8.2 / 10

Average score in category: 7.8 / 10

Buy

Find Best Price

(Video) LEKI Sherpa Lite Trekking Poles

Things to consider when buying walking & trekking poles

Before we get into the detail of our Leki Sherpa XTG Trekking Pole review we thought it would be worth quickly touching upon some key things for you to consider when buying walking & trekking poles online.

The main things that we’ll run through are the quality, features, price, reviews and brand. All of these play an important part of buying any products online, but are especially important when buying walking & trekking poles.

There’s so much information available online when we’re shopping now, that it’s easy to find lots of detail about products like Leki Sherpa XTG Trekking Pole. This is of course really helpful, but there’s almost too much information available, so it’s important to know exactly what you’re looking for.

That’s why we’ve pulled together this list of key factors for Leki Sherpa XTG Trekking Pole below, to help you choose if it’s the right product for you and your budget.

Quality of Leki Sherpa XTG Trekking Pole

When buying walking & trekking poles, the quality of the product is going to be one of the factors that you really scrutinise before you commit to buying.

The downside to buying online is that you can’t actually get hold of the product to try it out first.

There are however some methods that you can use to determine a product’s quality without needing to physically have it.

The material the product is made from is often a sign of the quality for walking & trekking poles. Take a look at the product details over at Cotswold Outdoor to get a feel for this.

Features and specification are another great area to look at. There will be some products that are amazing quality and packed full of additional features or specifications, but do take the time to really get an idea if you need that level of quality or if your budget and needs mean you should get something else.

Another factor that can be a great indication of product quality is the brand. Brands like Leki are of course extremely well known, especially for walking & trekking poles.

Price – as you’d expect the price of a product can be an instantly recognisable factor on what sort of quality you can expect. Whoever came up with the phrase “you get what you pay for” pretty much hit the nail on the head. Whilst it’s not always the case and there are many bargains to be had, you can as a general rule, expect the higher priced products to offer better quality than a the cheapest option. We’ll dive into the price of Leki Sherpa XTG Trekking Pole in more detail in a moment.

Perhaps the best way to really get an idea of the quality of a product is to see what current customers have to say about it by reading reviews. Reviews will give you a great detail of information and with any luck some of the reviews will have provided information about the quality of Leki Sherpa XTG Trekking Pole.

What’s the best deals on Leki Sherpa XTG Trekking Pole?

As we mentioned above we want to really get into the detail and analyse the price of Leki Sherpa XTG Trekking Pole. To do that we’ve run a search to find the retailers offering it at the best price possible. The best price we found was £58 at Cotswold Outdoor.

(Video) Are You Made For More? | Mirna Valerio | LEKI

To give that price some context we then looked at all of the products available from Cotswold Outdoor in the walking & trekking poles category. We found 13 items in total.

What’s the price of walking & trekking poles?

Of the 13 products that we identified in the walking & trekking poles category, the average price was £102.00, this makes Leki Sherpa XTG Trekking Pole below average when comparing to the average price.

It’s also worth checking out how much the price of products can vary in the walking & trekking poles category. So we looked to see what the most expensive product was and how much the cheapest product is. The lowest we found was £50.00 whilst the most expensive came in at £165.00. Of the 13 items, 11 were more expensive and 1 cheaper.

Price of Leki products

After we looked at the category, we then started to look at the brand, Leki. Over at Cotswold Outdoor we found 6 items from Leki. The highest price tag we found was £165.00, lowest was £50.00 and the overall average price was £106.33.

That got us thinking though, that we’re looking at every possible item from Leki so it would be good to narrow our search down even further and only look at Leki branded products within the walking & trekking poles category.

The cost of Leki walking & trekking poles

We managed to find 6 items that were made by Leki and are categorised as “walking & trekking poles”.

We again looked at some averages, and taking the average price of all 6 items gives us a price of £106.33, which therefore makes Leki Sherpa XTG Trekking Pole below average against the average product that are in the same category from the same brand.

We checked again to see how much the prices can vary and found the most expensive to be £165.00 whereas the cheapest option we discovered was £50.00. We found 4 items more expensive and 1 cheaper.

Leki Sherpa XTG Trekking Pole Reviews

Reviews are the reason you are here, and they’re unquestionably the most important factor we can use to help us choose a product when you’re not able to test the product for yourself. You’ll find loads of walking & trekking poles being reviewed over at Cotswold Outdoor.

We have also done our own research into the Leki Sherpa XTG Trekking Pole reviews over at Cotswold Outdoor. You will be really encouraged to see that it scored much higher overall in our review score. The average review score that we gave on all our walking & trekking poles reviews is just 7.6 out of 10 whereas the review score we gave Leki Sherpa XTG Trekking Pole was 8.2 / 10.

Our top piece of advice here is to really spend some time reading the customer reviews over at Cotswold Outdoor, you really will get a good idea of the key benefits, pros and cons of this item as well as others that you might be interested in.

Once you’ve read lots of customer reviews and you’re pretty decided on 1 or 2 walking & trekking poles we’d recommend you have a quick look around at some professional reviews too. If you look carefully you can find some really reputable sources for professional reviews, much like this top 8 tent review from Independent.

Once you have spent time reading reviews and you’re happy that Leki Sherpa XTG Trekking Pole is for you, great, click the green button below to be taken to Cotswold Outdoor. However, if you’re still on the fence and want to look at some more options, here are some great alternatives to consider. Cressida Ladies Trekking Poles reviews, Storm 375 Lumen Headlamp reviews or Dynalock Explore Poles reviews.

If after checking those three out, you’re still looking for some more inspiration then something like DynaLock Ascent Poles reviews could be a great choice, or perhaps something like Sliver Prizm Grey Sunglasses reviews.

Videos of Leki Sherpa XTG Trekking Pole on YouTube

another great source of information for checking out customer or professional walking & trekking poles reviews is over at YouTube. In fact you’ll probably find loads of unboxing videos and vloggers reviewing products, trying them out and feeding back on the quality, price, features and more.

If you have a bit of time and want to find out more about Leki Sherpa XTG Trekking Pole after reading the reviews then YouTube is your next stop. We’ve run a quick search on YouTube below to get you started.

Leki walking & trekking poles

As we mentioned above, the brand can make a huge impact on our decision of what walking & trekking poles we buy. Some brands are really well known for their quality, some for their price, some for features whereas some brands try and deliver an overall package that works well.

We’d strongly suggest that you stick to the key brands when buying walking & trekking poles. Brands like Leki are extremely well known for making great products. In fact they probably fit in the final segment we mentioned above whereby they deliver a fantastic overall package. Leki is definitely one of our preferred and recommended manufacturers.

(Video) LEKI Makalu FX Carbon Trekking Poles

Review Summary

We’re really pleased to have scored Leki Sherpa XTG Trekking Pole so highly, givimg it 8.2 out of 10, making it well above the average for all walking & trekking poles.

We felt that this product gives one of the best overall packages for all aspects of our review, from the quality, to the specs, price and customer feedback.

All that’s left now is to head over to read lots of the customer reviews by clicking on the “view reviews at Cotswold Outdoor” button. Thanks and don’t forget to drop a comment below if you have any thoughts on our Leki Sherpa XTG Trekking Pole review.

Article information

Author: Aron Pacocha

Last Updated: 07/20/2022

Views: 5772

Rating: 4.8 / 5 (48 voted)

Reviews: 87% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Aron Pacocha

Birthday: 1999-08-12

Address: 3808 Moen Corner, Gorczanyport, FL 67364-2074

Phone: +393457723392

Job: Retail Consultant

Hobby: Jewelry making, Cooking, Gaming, Reading, Juggling, Cabaret, Origami

Introduction: My name is Aron Pacocha, I am a happy, tasty, innocent, proud, talented, courageous, magnificent person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.

(Video) LEKI Cross Trail 3 TA Series Review

FAQs

Are Leki walking poles any good? ›

Best Overall Trekking Pole for Women

The Women's Leki Micro Vario Carbon is the most comfortable pole for women. They have comfortable grips, excellent locking mechanisms, and low weight. They are ultra-packable, collapsing down to only 15.5 inches in length, among the smallest in our review.

Where are Leki trekking poles manufactured? ›

The majority of LEKI products are manufactured in our factory in the Czech Republic.

What is the ideal hiking pole height? ›

Height. Generally speaking, walking poles should reach the top of your palm when your arm is down by your side with your forearm held out in front of you at 90 degrees to your body. Essentially the top of the handle should be at waist or hip level and your elbow at 90 degrees.

What is the difference between a walking pole and a trekking pole? ›

4 Nordic walking poles are more sporty and work better on smoother terrain, including hills and most coastal paths. Trekking poles are better for rocky, uneven and mountainous terrain.

Which walking stick is best for elderly? ›

The 10 Best Walking Canes for Seniors
  1. HurryCane Freedom Edition Folding Cane. ...
  2. HoneyBull Walking Cane. ...
  3. Hugo Mobility Quadpod. ...
  4. Carex Soft Grip Cane. ...
  5. Harvy Derby Scorched Cherry Hardwood Cane. ...
  6. Travelon Walking Seat and Cane. ...
  7. Duro Med Wooden Walking Canes. ...
  8. Self Defense Plain Jane.
25 Jul 2022

How do seniors use walking sticks? ›

Modified Nordic Walking Technique for Older Adults - YouTube

What is the lightest trekking pole? ›

At around 9-10 ounces per pair depending on the size, the Distance Carbon Z is Black Diamond's lightest trekking pole and great for minimalists (they are so light and packable that they've even become popular with long-distance trail runners).

How heavy should Trekking Pole be? ›

Aluminum: The more durable and economical choice, aluminum poles usually weigh between 18 and 22 ounces per pair. The actual weight (and price) can vary a bit based on the gauge of the pole, which ranges from 12 to 16mm.

Should you use one or two walking sticks? ›

Often, their tips are hardened carbide steel, with the ability to “set” into rock and soil to provide traction. Hikers often ask how two trekking poles are better than one “regular” walking stick. The simplest answer to this question is that poles give symmetrical support that one stick does not.

How do you know what size walking stick you need? ›

To measure someone for a walking stick, ask them to stand with their weight evenly on both feet, looking straight ahead and with their arms relaxed by their sides. You then need to measure from the floor to the prominent bone of the wrist. This is the length of walking stick required.

Who owns LEKI poles? ›

In the company founded by his parents, Klaus Lenhart served his apprenticeship as a toolmaker. At 19 years old he took over the management of the company together with his older sister (21 years old) and his brother (23 years old).

How do you break down LEKI poles? ›

  1. Position your sticks. I hope that your gnome will be more helpful than ours.
  2. Pull your (Leki) trekking poles apart. Loosen each section of your pole by turning. ...
  3. Unscrew the expander. Turn toward you according to the photo. ...
  4. Remove the expander. ...
  5. Clean. ...
  6. Reassemble. ...
  7. Repeat.
29 Nov 2021

Can you put trekking poles in carry on? ›

According to TSA, ski and hiking poles are not allowed as carry-ons, but walking canes are allowed, provided “they have been inspected to ensure that prohibited items are not concealed.”

Can you use just one trekking pole? ›

If you are hiking over difficult, slippery terrain, or if you need to cross rivers, then carrying two trekking poles can be hugely beneficial. If you are embarking on a shorter hike that is not too challenging, then perhaps just one pole would be sufficient. Others would choose to do the same hike without any poles.

What is the correct way to walk with a walking stick? ›

How to use a cane
  1. Hold your cane in the hand that's opposite the side that needs support.
  2. Position the cane slightly to the side and about 2 inches forward.
  3. Move your cane forward at the same time as you step forward with your affected leg.
  4. Hold the cane steady in place as you walk forward with your unaffected leg.
24 Apr 2020

Is Nordic walking better than walking? ›

Walking with Nordic poles burns more calories and works more muscles than conventional walking. Picture a brilliant blue sky over a vast field of fresh, fluffy snow. The air is crisp and cold, and you're suited up on skis, ready to propel yourself across the expanse of white for a day of cross-country skiing.

Are trekking poles good for walking? ›

Trekking poles can also:

Improve your power and endurance when walking uphill. Aid balance on uneven trails. Improve posture, making walkers more upright as they walk and in turn this can help breathing. Increase speed, especially going downhill.

How do you lock Leki walking sticks? ›

LEKI Micro Vario Carbon Trekking Poles - YouTube

Should seniors use trekking poles? ›

Older adults have found that walking poles can reduce load-bearing weight on their knees, hips and spine. "They found a very simple tool that with very basic training they could enjoy the outdoors, get exercise and rotate their spine," Paley says.

Are walking poles good for arthritic knees? ›

They provide extra stability and can lower the amount of stress on your legs and knee joints by taking the weight onto the poles through your arms. Using walking poles, or even a single pole, will reduce knee pain and increase hill climbing power and endurance.

Are trekking poles good for elderly? ›

What Makes an Ideal Walking Stick / Trekking Pole For Seniors? Great walking sticks and trekking poles provide stability for various body types and can help reduce the stress and impact on joints and muscles.

What are the disadvantages of using a cane? ›

The potential drawbacks of using a cane include:
  • They provide less support than walkers.
  • Over time could lead to repetitive strain issues.
  • They could get stuck in cracks and on uneven surfaces.
  • Improper sizing could create additional aches and pains.
  • They are not ideal for major mobility issues or immediately post-surgery.
3 Dec 2018

Does walking stick help arthritis? ›

How Canes Help Manage Arthritis Pain. There's no doubt that canes can be beneficial for people with arthritis: One study even found that using a cane can actually help reduce the disease progression of OA.

What is the best cane for balance? ›

Use a quad cane

The four tips of a quad cane offer a wider base that provides support, stability, and balance.

What makes good trekking poles? ›

Fixed-length poles are best if you're on a budget and don't plan to hike on long, steep uphill or downhill sections where adjustability comes in handy. While gripping the fixed trekking pole on flat ground, your elbow should create a 90-degree angle.

What are the benefits of walking poles? ›

Trekking poles can also:
  • Protect knees, especially when walking down steep hills.
  • Improve your power and endurance when walking uphill.
  • Aid balance on uneven trails.
  • Improve posture, making walkers more upright as they walk and in turn this can help breathing.
  • Increase speed, especially going downhill.
5 Feb 2014

Can Nordic walking poles be used as trekking poles? ›

The simple answer is No you can t! However, you can use Nordic Walking poles for trekking; so anybody who is looking at purchasing poles, consider Nordic Walking poles as they come with extra benefits. The significant difference between the two poles is the wrist strap.

Why are walking poles good? ›

Benefits of Walking Poles

Protect your knees from the impact of walking, especially when walking downhill. Increase your walking speed, especially going downhill. Improve power and endurance when walking uphill. Aid balance and stability on uneven trails.

Can you put trekking poles in carry on? ›

According to TSA, ski and hiking poles are not allowed as carry-ons, but walking canes are allowed, provided “they have been inspected to ensure that prohibited items are not concealed.”

Should you use one or two walking sticks? ›

Often, their tips are hardened carbide steel, with the ability to “set” into rock and soil to provide traction. Hikers often ask how two trekking poles are better than one “regular” walking stick. The simplest answer to this question is that poles give symmetrical support that one stick does not.

How do you lock Leki walking sticks? ›

LEKI Micro Vario Carbon Trekking Poles - YouTube

Do walking sticks help your knees? ›

They provide extra stability and can lower the amount of stress on your legs and knee joints by taking the weight onto the poles through your arms. Using walking poles, or even a single pole, will reduce knee pain and increase hill climbing power and endurance.

Do you burn more calories hiking with poles? ›

Key results. Heart rate increased by up to 33 beats per minute higher when using poles when walking at normal speed. The average increase was 8.4%. Calorie burn was up to 45% higher with poles.

Does walking with trekking poles burn more calories? ›

Using walking poles results in burning more calories and giving your heart and lungs more of a workout than walking the same speed without walking poles. The difference is about one additional calorie per minute.

Is Nordic walking better than walking? ›

Walking with Nordic poles burns more calories and works more muscles than conventional walking. Picture a brilliant blue sky over a vast field of fresh, fluffy snow. The air is crisp and cold, and you're suited up on skis, ready to propel yourself across the expanse of white for a day of cross-country skiing.

What is the difference between hiking and trekking? ›

Whereas the definition of hiking includes the word “walk”, something typically seen as jovial, easy and pleasant, trekking is defined as a “journey”, which is typically something that is more challenging, requires more effort and that tends to take more than one day.

What is the difference between walking poles and Nordic poles? ›

Nordic Walking poles are very different to trekking or other walking poles with a slimmer hand grip and straps that are used as an integral part of the Nordic Walking technique. There is no evidence that Nordic Walking poles present any greater danger of falling or of injury from a fall than other walking poles do.

Do hiking poles help knees? ›

Advocates of trekking poles say they decrease pressure on the knees, especially going up or down hill. And advocates of Nordic walking (a type of exercise walking) maintain that the poles help with walking even on a level surface.

Are walking poles good for posture? ›

Walking poles can help improve posture and balance, reduce joint pain, and improve mood and confidence. This activity can be extremely beneficial for active seniors, arthritic users, patients with cardiac health concerns, people living with diabetes, Parkinson's disease and more.

Videos

1. LEKI | The Aergon Air | Guide your Way
(LEKI)
2. LEKI Cressida Women's Trekking Poles
(Enwild)
3. LEKI Carbon TA XTG Trekking Poles
(Enwild)
4. LEKI Aergon Air Grips
(Enwild)
5. My New Favorite Trekking Poles (Black Diamond Alpine Carbon vs Leki Micro Vario vs Zpacks UL)
(Homemade Wanderlust)
6. Bâtons de randonnée LÉKI MAKALU LITE ANTISHOCK AS
(La boutique du bâton)

You might also like

Latest Posts

Article information

Author: Prof. Nancy Dach

Last Updated: 10/22/2022

Views: 6110

Rating: 4.7 / 5 (57 voted)

Reviews: 80% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Prof. Nancy Dach

Birthday: 1993-08-23

Address: 569 Waelchi Ports, South Blainebury, LA 11589

Phone: +9958996486049

Job: Sales Manager

Hobby: Web surfing, Scuba diving, Mountaineering, Writing, Sailing, Dance, Blacksmithing

Introduction: My name is Prof. Nancy Dach, I am a lively, joyous, courageous, lovely, tender, charming, open person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.